
Flock Camera Cost 2026: What 84 Cities and Agencies Actually Paid
NationGraph / Blog / Public Safety
What 84 public bodies in 30 states paid Flock Safety, from the per-camera line item to the whole contract, checked against the price list Flock files with a public purchasing cooperative.
Published Sep 15, 2026
Quick Answer
A Flock Safety license plate camera costs a US public agency between $2,500 and $3,750 per camera per year, with a median of $3,000. That median is exactly the list price Flock files on its cooperative pricing proposal to ESC Region 13 in Texas. Whole contracts run far wider, from $6,000 for a FlockOS software renewal at Selma Police Department in Texas to $772,862 for year one of a 120-month term at Hempstead Village Police Department in New York, with a median of $30,719. Nothing is bought outright: the annual fee leases the camera, its cellular connection, cloud storage, and software, and Flock takes the hardware back when the agreement ends.
These figures come from 86 records covering 84 distinct public entities across 30 states, filed between January 2025 and August 2026. They are purchase orders, signed contracts, agenda packets, board minutes, and recorded council meetings. Almost none of it reaches a bid board. A renewal is a consent-agenda line, a cooperative purchase skips competitive solicitation entirely, and a police department adding two cameras to an existing platform issues a purchase order and nothing else. That is the structural reason the license plate camera market looks smaller from a bid feed than it is, which we covered in how local governments actually buy license plate cameras.
How much does a Flock camera cost per year?
Between $2,500 and $3,750, and the middle of that band is $3,000. Seven records in this census state both a camera count and a price, which is what makes the arithmetic possible. Most contracts do not: they give a single total for a bundle of cameras, software, installation, and sometimes audio detection, and the per-camera number stays buried.
Seaside Police Department in California is the exception that makes the rest legible. Its contract itemizes everything: 25 Falcon cameras at $62,500, a Raven audio detection device at $25,000, nineteen standard installations at $6,650, six advanced installations at $4,500, and Advanced Search at $2,500, for $101,150 total. Divide the camera line by the camera count and you get $2,500, and every other city's single total starts to make sense.
The three records above $3,000 all involve site work rather than a pricier camera. Greenville NC at $3,222 is on a three-year platform. CAL FIRE at $3,658 includes a MASH-tested pole, which is a crash-tested roadside installation. Fort Monroe VA at $3,750 is for solar video units.
| Entity | State | Cameras | Total | Term | Per camera, per year | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seaside Police Department | CA | 25 | $62,500 | 1 year | $2,500 | Stated line item |
| Joliet Junior College | IL | 7 | $17,500 | 1 year | $2,500 | Computed, whole PO |
| Sebastian | FL | 2 | $6,000 | 1 year | $3,000 | Computed |
| Pasadena | TX | 18 | $54,000 | 1 year | $3,000 | Computed |
| Greenville | NC | 10 | $96,660 | 3 years | $3,222 | Computed |
| CAL FIRE | CA | 3 | $10,974 | 1 year | $3,658 | Computed, includes pole |
| Fort Monroe | VA | 3 | $11,250 | 1 year | $3,750 | Computed |
Source: NationGraph census of public purchase orders, contracts and agenda packets, January 2025 to August 2026. Only these seven records state both a camera count and a price, so they are the only ones from which a per-camera figure can be derived. Seaside PD is a stated line item; the rest are computed from stated totals. Greenville NC is a three-year platform divided by term. CAL FIRE includes a crash-tested pole installation. Joliet Junior College assumes FlockOS carries no separate cost, which its purchase order does not state; treat it as indicative. These seven records describe our corpus, not the national market.
What is Flock Safety's published list price?
Flock does not publish pricing on its website, but it does file it with public purchasing cooperatives, and those filings are public documents. Its proposal to ESC Region 13 in Texas lists a Falcon license plate camera at $3,000 per camera per year, a relocatable Falcon Flex at $3,500, and a Condor video camera at $3,000 with Flock's cellular service or $2,750 if the agency supplies its own.
Installation is quoted separately and it is where the spread lives. Flock prices a Falcon install at $150 per camera where a suitable pole and power already exist, $650 for a standard implementation, and $1,900 where a new pole and solar are needed. That is a twelve-fold range on the same camera, decided by what is already on the corner.
Against that list, the census is remarkably close. The median of the seven priced records is $3,000, on the number. Where cities diverge, they diverge on setup: Seaside PD paid $350 per standard install, roughly half list, while Glynn County GA paid $650 across 76 cameras, exactly list.
| Product | What it is | List price | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Falcon | Fixed license plate camera, solar and LTE | $3,000 | Per camera, per year |
| Falcon Flex | Relocatable license plate camera, no install fee | $3,500 | Per camera, per year |
| Condor | Live and recorded video camera, PTZ or fixed, Flock LTE | $3,000 | Per camera, per year |
| Condor | Same camera, agency supplies its own LTE | $2,750 | Per camera, per year |
| Wing LPR | Software that turns an existing IP camera into a plate reader | $1,500 | Per camera, per year |
| Raven | Audio gunshot detection, quarter square mile of coverage | $12,000 | Per year |
| Raven | Audio gunshot detection, half square mile of coverage | $20,000 | Per year |
| Raven | Audio gunshot detection, one square mile of coverage | $35,000 | Per year |
| Falcon install | Existing pole and power already on site | $150 | One time, per camera |
| Falcon install | Standard implementation | $650 | One time, per camera |
| Falcon install | Advanced implementation, new pole and solar | $1,900 | One time, per camera |
| Condor install | All Condor deployments | $750 | One time, per camera |
Source: Flock Safety pricing proposal filed with ESC Region 13 (Texas), esc13.net, read September 14, 2026. Read this as a cooperative list price, not a national tariff. Agencies buying through a cooperative may pay these rates; direct and commercial quotes differ, and Raven is licensed by coverage area rather than by unit count. For comparison against what cities in our census actually paid, see the per-camera table above: seven records stating both a camera count and a price land between $2,500 and $3,750, median $3,000.
What does a whole Flock contract cost a city?
The middle of the market is about $30,700 a year, and the tails are two orders of magnitude apart. Thirty-five priced records sit in this census. At the bottom, Selma Police Department in Texas renewed FlockOS alone for $6,000 and Sebastian FL added two cameras to an existing deployment for $6,000. At the top, Hempstead Village Police Department in New York booked $772,862 for the first year of a 120-month term, Beverly Hills CA issued a $360,000 purchase order, and Elk Grove CA issued one for $343,950.
Camera count explains most of it. Glynn County GA at $309,651.12 is running 76 cameras with three-year extended data retention priced as its own line. Greenville NC at $96,660 is running ten on a three-year platform. Below roughly $30,000, records are usually a software renewal, a single trailer, or a handful of cameras on a campus.
Universities are a quiet segment here. Seven of the 84 entities are higher education, from Norfolk State University at $51,000 down to Appalachian State at $9,000, and none of those purchases went through anything a bid tracker would catch.
| Entity | State | Type | Cameras | Amount | What the figure covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hempstead Village Police Department | NY | Police dept | $772,862 | Year 1 of 120-month term | |
| Beverly Hills | CA | City | $360,000 | Purchase order | |
| Elk Grove | CA | City | $343,950 | Purchase order | |
| Glynn County Police Department | GA | Police dept | 76 | $309,651.12 | Annual contract |
| Glendale | CA | City | $242,500 | Year 4 of 5-year renewal | |
| Seaside Police Department | CA | Police dept | 25 | $101,150 | Contract total, all items |
| Pasadena | TX | City | $98,200 | Budgeted, new cameras | |
| Greenville | NC | City | 10 | $96,660 | Three-year platform |
| Knightdale Police Department | NC | Police dept | $71,500 | Renewal | |
| Monroe Police Department | OH | Police dept | $69,000 | Member fee | |
| Temple | TX | City | $66,990 | Trailer subscription | |
| Lebanon Police Department | OH | Police dept | $60,000 | Annual renewal | |
| Genesee County | MI | County | $60,000 | Stated by a speaker | |
| Pasadena | TX | City | 18 | $54,000 | 18 camera renewals |
| Norfolk State University | VA | University | $51,000 | Purchase order | |
| Glastonbury | CT | City | $51,000 | Purchase order | |
| Town of Lincoln | RI | City | $45,400 | Sole-source bundle | |
| Sylvania Township Police Department | OH | Police dept | $42,000 | Service plan renewal | |
| Florida SouthWestern State College | FL | University | $31,437.45 | Purchase order | |
| Port Hueneme Police Department | CA | Police dept | $30,000 | Purchase order | |
| William & Mary | VA | University | $26,059 | Annual maintenance | |
| Berrien County Sheriff's Office | MI | Police dept | $25,000 | Trailer subscription | |
| Camanche | IA | City | $23,500 | Renewal | |
| Bloomington | IL | City | $20,900 | Annual renewal | |
| Hagerstown Police Department | MD | Police dept | $18,400 | Gunshot detection renewal | |
| Joliet Junior College | IL | University | 7 | $17,500 | Purchase order |
| North Aurora Police Department | IL | Police dept | $16,000 | Purchase order | |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale | IL | University | 8 | $13,800 | Purchase order |
| University of Houston-System Administration | TX | University | $12,000 | Annual recurring | |
| Fort Monroe | VA | City | 3 | $11,250 | Annual recurring |
| CAL FIRE | CA | State agency | 3 | $10,974 | Purchase order |
| Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission | FL | State agency | 25 | $9,417.75 | Six-week prorated period |
| Appalachian State University | NC | University | $9,000 | Purchase order | |
| Sebastian | FL | City | 2 | $6,000 | Two-camera expansion |
| Selma Police Department | TX | Police dept | $6,000 | FlockOS renewal |
Source: NationGraph census of public purchase orders, contracts, agenda packets and board minutes, January 2025 to August 2026. Read the basis column before comparing rows. These are not all annual figures. Median across the 30 records stated on an annual basis is $30,719, excluding Greenville NC (three-year platform), Seaside PD (contract total), Pasadena TX's budgeted-new line, Florida Fish and Wildlife (six weeks, prorated) and Genesee County MI (a speaker's figure, not a budget line). Pasadena TX appears twice because its packet budgets new cameras and renewals separately. Counts and totals describe our corpus, not the national market.
What else do cities buy from Flock besides plate readers?
Live video, gunshot audio, mobile trailers, and software, each priced on its own subscription. The plate reader is the entry point and it is no longer the whole product.
Raven is the audio detection line. Seaside PD bought a single one-mile device for $25,000, which sits between Flock's list tiers of $20,000 for half a square mile and $35,000 for one. Hagerstown Police Department in Maryland renews gunshot detection at $18,400 a year with no cameras attached to the record at all.
Condor is the video line, and it is what residents at several meetings were actually objecting to. Southern Illinois University-Carbondale bought six Condor video cameras alongside two Falcons and a solar multi-purpose unit for $13,800. Midwest City OK bought the full stack in one go: plate readers, PTZ live video, and gunshot audio.
Mobile trailers show up twice, at Temple TX for $66,990 with a subscription and an LPR camera, and at Berrien County Sheriff's Office in Michigan for $25,000. Neither is a pole. FlockOS, the software layer, is priced separately often enough that two records are software renewals with no hardware: Selma PD at $6,000 and Bloomington IL at $20,900.
| Product | Entity | State | What the record shows | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Raven audio detection | Seaside Police Department | CA | One 1-mile audio detection device, contract line item | $25,000 |
| Gunshot detection (Raven) | Hagerstown Police Department | MD | Annual renewal, no cameras on the record | $18,400 |
| Mobile security trailer | Temple | TX | Trailer subscription plus an LPR camera | $66,990 |
| Mobile security trailer | Berrien County Sheriff's Office | MI | Trailer subscription, recurring | $25,000 |
| Condor video cameras | Southern Illinois University-Carbondale | IL | Six Condor video units, two Falcons, one solar multi-purpose LPR, plus FlockOS Starter | $13,800 |
| Solar video cameras | Fort Monroe | VA | Three solar video cameras, flat across years one and two | $11,250 |
| FlockOS software only | Bloomington | IL | Annual renewal of existing products plus FlockOS | $20,900 |
| FlockOS software only | Selma Police Department | TX | FlockOS renewal, no hardware on the record | $6,000 |
| Extended data retention | Glynn County Police Department | GA | Three-year retention priced as its own line inside a 76-camera contract | In $309,651.12 |
| Advanced Search | Seaside Police Department | CA | Search package, contract line item | $2,500 |
| Implementation, standard | Glynn County Police Department | GA | $650 per camera across 76 cameras | $49,400 |
| Implementation, mixed | Seaside Police Department | CA | 19 standard at $350 each, 6 advanced at $750 each | $11,150 |
| Full stack in one purchase | Midwest City | OK | Flock ALPR plus PTZ Condor live video plus Raven gunshot detection | Not disclosed |
Source: NationGraph census of public purchase orders, contracts and agenda packets, January 2025 to August 2026. Amounts are as stated in each record; the Seaside PD and Glynn County implementation figures are the stated totals for those line items. Midwest City OK discloses the product mix but no price. Raven is licensed by coverage area rather than by device count, so Seaside's single $25,000 device sits between Flock's list tiers of $20,000 for half a square mile and $35,000 for one. This is what appeared in our records, not a product catalog or a market share.
Who pays for Flock cameras, and does it come out of the general fund?
Often, it does not. Only four records in this census name a funding source, which is itself the finding, but not one of the four is a plain general-fund appropriation.
Youngstown OH used American Rescue Plan money for installation, with the council covering the first year, stated on camera at a March 2026 meeting. Castle Hills TX paid through its police federal seizure fund, which is asset forfeiture. Damascus VA applied for a state Highway Enforcement of Aggressive Traffic grant. Pasadena TX budgeted its purchase against a grant with a local match of $16,367 and $9,000. A fifth record, Town of Lincoln RI at $45,400, names a procurement route rather than a funding source: sole source.
This matters because residents at three separate meetings framed their objection as a budget-priority question. In at least four documented cases, the answer is that the money was never competing with a road repair in the first place.
What have city councils actually decided about Flock in 2026?
They have mostly been renewing. Across 86 records the decisions break down as 21 renewals, 18 new awards, 10 council approvals, 4 proposals, 3 expansions, 3 adopted policies, 2 studies or audits, 1 delivery, and 1 budget line. Twenty-three records are discussion without a vote following, and nearly all of those are residents speaking against the cameras during public comment.
That asymmetry is the most useful thing in this dataset. Opposition generates speech, and speech generates a record. Renewal generates a consent-agenda line item that nobody reads aloud. A vendor reading headlines and a vendor reading purchase orders are looking at the same market and seeing opposite pictures.
The middle path exists too. Costa Mesa CA moved to audit its Flock deployment in March 2026. Rochester MI opened a study of placement, privacy, security, and cost the same month. Willard MO adopted a policy requiring an annual public report of camera counts and plate reads as a condition of renewal. Those three are worth more to a vendor than any of the twenty-three complaints, because each one has a decision date attached.
| Decision on the record | Records | Distinct entities |
|---|---|---|
| Discussed, no vote followed | 23 | 23 |
| Renewed | 21 | 21 |
| Awarded, new contract or PO | 18 | 18 |
| Approved by council vote | 10 | 10 |
| Proposed | 4 | 4 |
| Expanded, more cameras | 3 | 3 |
| Adopted a policy or ordinance | 3 | 3 |
| Studying or auditing | 2 | 2 |
| Delivered | 1 | 1 |
| Budgeted | 1 | 1 |
| Cancelled, rejected or repealed | 0 | 0 |
| Total | 86 | 84 |
Source: NationGraph census of 86 public records across 84 entities in 30 states, January 2025 to August 2026. Zero cancellations is a finding about these records, not about the country. Outside trackers document cancellations elsewhere: Newsweek maps 149 communities that have cancelled, rejected or deactivated as of September 2026, and Finding Flock verifies individual decisions against news reports and public records. The 23 "discussed" records are almost entirely public comment with no vote following, which is why opposition is over-represented relative to council action. These counts describe our corpus, not the national market.
Did any of these cities cancel their Flock contract?
None of the 84 in this census did. Across 86 records there is not one vote to cancel or decline to renew. The closest is a Culver City CA council member proposing discontinuation in June 2025, which is a proposal and not a decision.
That is a finding about this set of procurement records, not about the country. Cancellations are happening and they are being counted elsewhere. Newsweek maintains a running map of communities that have canceled contracts, rejected proposed deployments, or deactivated cameras, and its September 2026 update counts 149. Finding Flock runs a tracker that verifies individual contract decisions against a news report or public record. Bloomington IN appears in our own census as a March 2026 council discussion and was subsequently reported to have ended a $50,000 agreement.
So both things are true at once, and the gap between them is the point. Ending a Flock contract is news. Renewing one is paperwork. Only one of the two produces a headline, and only one of them produces a purchase order, and a vendor who reads only the first will badly misjudge how much of this market is still being signed.
What are residents telling their councils about Flock cameras?
Data sharing with federal immigration enforcement, more than anything else. It is named explicitly in Culver City CA, Richfield MN, Bloomington IN, Sunset Valley TX, Fort Wayne IN, and Coralville IA. Second is Fourth Amendment and warrantless search, raised in Oldham County KY, Genesee County MI, and Coralville IA. Third is cost against benefit, in Genesee County MI and San Bernardino CA.
The census records what was said, verbatim, with the speaker's role, and it does not characterize it. That includes the speakers who defended the cameras, such as the Highland UT commenter who argued the pushback rests on a misunderstanding of how the system is used.
Six records contain residents making factual claims about other jurisdictions or about Flock's conduct, including an assertion that Richmond and Mountain View turned their cameras off. None of those is corroborated anywhere in this census. They are recorded as statements by named speakers and they should be read that way.
| What was said, verbatim | Entity | State | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| “we use our ARP to install the flock cameras. Yeah. Council paid for the first year.” | Youngstown | OH | 2026-03-06 | Clip 00:38:16 |
| “another year of spending $60,000 on flock surveillance cameras that haven't proven their worth” | Genesee County | MI | 2026-02-04 | Clip 00:40:25 |
| “There is a flock surveillance camera just across the line into Shaker Heights pointed north up into University Heights” | University Hts | OH | 2026-03-05 | Clip 00:02:14 |
| “the Cheyenne Police Department has installed flock surveillance cameras across our city, 23 and all” | Cheyenne | WY | 2026-02-24 | Clip 02:30:15 |
| “a lot of the push back against flock cameras is a misunderstanding of how it's used” | Highland | UT | 2026-03-04 | Clip 03:35:02 |
| “I believe that flock cameras are probably a great tool for law enforcement. However” | Monterey County | CA | 2026-08-25 | Clip 04:45:23 |
| “Alexis, Ward 2, requested complete removal of Flock cameras” | Woodburn | OR | 2026-01-21 | Packet |
| “discussed the right of Flock to terminate the contract if agencies are not using the ALPRs” | Culver City | CA | 2025-07-09 | Minutes |
| “each year thereafter if Flock is renewed: Total number of fixed cameras; Number of license [plate reads]” | Willard | MO | 2025-11-10 | Packet |
| “four flock ALPR surveillance cameras were installed in town last October” | Petaluma | CA | 2026-03-03 | Clip 00:16:39 |
Source: NationGraph census of recorded public meetings, board minutes and agenda packets. Video links open at the timestamp. These are statements by named speakers, recorded verbatim, not findings. Where a speaker asserts a fact about another jurisdiction or about Flock's conduct, nothing in this census corroborates it. The $60,000 figure at Genesee County MI is a speaker's number, not a county budget line. Pro-Flock and mixed positions are included alongside the objections. The 23 public-comment records over-represent opposition relative to council action, because opposition generates speech and renewal generates a consent-agenda line.
What does a Flock contract say a city can and cannot do?
The city pays for the camera and is not allowed to touch it. Indian Head Park IL approved a contract in June 2025 containing a clause barring the customer from removing, repositioning, reinstalling, tampering with, altering, or taking possession of Flock hardware. The same family of language appears in packets from Gwinnett County GA, Forest Lake MN, Mountlake Terrace WA, Hailey ID, Berkeley CA, and El Lago TX, all of them contract approvals.
That boilerplate is also the biggest research trap in this subject. Any keyword search for "remove" or "terminate" against council packets returns those clauses as if they were decisions. They are not. One record in this census, New Baltimore MI, matched on the word "cancellation" from an insurance certificate template, and it was kept deliberately to document the false positive.
Termination runs in both directions. Culver City CA discussed Flock's own right to terminate an agreement if an agency is not using the readers. Data retention is a priced product rather than a policy default: Glynn County GA bought three-year extended retention as a line item in its contract.
Methodology
Every figure comes from a primary public record: a purchase order, a signed contract, an agenda packet, board minutes, or a recorded public meeting. Fifty-six of the 86 records carry a clickable source URL, and 26 of those are meeting videos deep-linked to the timestamp; 30 records are contract or purchase-order documents without a public link. The census covers 86 records across 84 entities in 30 states, and it is a floor rather than a total, because both underlying searches returned capped result sets. One record, a January 2026 Dougherty County GA renewal, was withheld because its expenditure figure is truncated mid-sentence in the source.
Per-camera figures are computed from a stated camera count and a stated total except at Seaside PD, where the camera price is its own line item. The Florida Fish and Wildlife per-unit price is excluded from all price tables because it is prorated over a six-week coverage period. Joliet Junior College's figure assumes FlockOS carries no separate cost, which its purchase order does not state. Counts here describe the records we found, not the national market: disclosure practice varies enormously by state, and California supplies 17 of the 84 entities largely because it posts meeting video.
Related reading
- How Local Governments Actually Buy License Plate Cameras
- Electric School Bus Cost 2026: What Districts Pay
- How Much Do Vape Detectors Cost Schools in 2026? What Districts Actually Paid
- How to Monitor School Board and City Council Spending
- How to Track Expiring Government Contracts in 2026
- 8 Key Data Sources for Pre-RFP Government Signals
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a Flock camera cost per year?
Between $2,500 and $3,750 per camera per year across seven agencies that disclosed both a camera count and a price, with a median of $3,000. Flock's own cooperative price list quotes a Falcon license plate camera at $3,000 per year. Installation is charged once and separately, at $150 to $1,900 per camera depending on whether a usable pole and power already exist.
Do cities own their Flock cameras?
No. Flock leases the hardware and the annual subscription covers the camera, cellular connectivity, cloud storage, software, and maintenance. Contract language approved by Indian Head Park IL in June 2025 bars the customer from removing, repositioning, or taking possession of the hardware, and Flock removes the equipment when an agreement ends.
How much does a full Flock contract cost a city?
From $6,000 to $772,862 a year across 35 priced records, with a median of about $30,700. The low end is a software-only renewal or a two-camera expansion; the high end is Hempstead Village Police Department in New York, whose $772,862 is year one of a 120-month term. Camera count is the main driver, with installation site conditions the main source of variance.
Who buys Flock cameras besides police departments?
Of the 84 entities here, 55 are cities, 12 are police departments filing in their own name, 7 are counties, 7 are universities, 2 are state agencies, and 1 is a township. The higher education segment runs from Norfolk State University at $51,000 down to Appalachian State at $9,000. CAL FIRE, a state fire agency, bought three plate readers with crash-tested pole installation for $10,974.
Can a city remove a Flock camera itself?
Not under the standard contract language found in this census. Approved packets from Indian Head Park IL, Gwinnett County GA, Forest Lake MN, Hailey ID, and others contain clauses reserving removal and restoration to Flock. Those clauses appear in contracts a council just approved, so a search result containing the word "remove" is usually an adoption rather than a cancellation.
Have any cities cancelled their Flock contracts?
Not among the 84 entities in this census, which records 21 renewals and 18 new awards and zero cancellations between January 2025 and August 2026. Cancellations are occurring elsewhere and are tracked by outside projects: Newsweek's September 2026 map counts 149 communities that have cancelled, rejected, or deactivated, and Finding Flock verifies individual decisions against news reports and public records. A record of a city discussing Flock is not a record of what it later decided.
Find your first opportunity in minutes






