Blog
Blogs

Electric School Bus Cost 2026: What Districts Pay

Andrew Boston
September 11, 2026

10 min read

NationGraph / Blog / K-12 Transportation

Real per-bus prices, grant offsets, and charging costs from district budget documents and board meetings, plus the districts still deciding.

Published Sep 11, 2026

An electric school bus costs roughly $348,000 to $504,000 per bus in 2026, against $174,755 for a comparable 66-passenger diesel bus. Sticker price is not what districts pay. Hyde Park Central School District in New York put both on the same May 2025 ballot: nine 66-passenger electric buses at $503,848.53 each, including a level 3 charger for every bus, and four 66-passenger diesel buses at $174,755.38 each. After a NYSERDA grant of $257,250 per bus and state transportation aid of up to 58.4%, Hyde Park's net cost for the nine electric buses was $0.00.

According to NationGraph's analysis of school board meetings, district budget documents, and federal grant records, at least 76 public entities, 47 of them K-12 districts, are carrying funded electric school bus programs with a published dollar value. Most of the purchasing activity sits in the gap between the list price and what a district actually pays, and very little of it appears in a bid feed.

How much does an electric school bus cost in 2026?

Between about $348,000 and $504,000 per bus, depending on size, charger inclusion, and state. Districts publish these numbers themselves, because in many states a bus purchase requires a public vote, a feature of K-12 budget cycles that should shape how you quote.

How much does an electric school bus cost in 2026?
DistrictStateDatePer busWhat is includedSource
Hyde Park CSDNYMay 2025$503,848.5366-passenger, plus a level 3 charger per busBudget flyer
North Babylon UFSDNYMar 2026~$450,000Figure stated at a board meetingBoard video
Needham Public SchoolsMAApr 2025$375,437One bus, electric replacementDistrict budget document
East Greenbush CSDNYMay 2025$347,81666-passenger, two buses at $695,632Budget newsletter
Diesel comparisonNYMay 2025$174,755.3866-passenger diesel, Hyde ParkSame flyer

Districts describe the ratio in their own audited statements. Jordan-Elbridge Central School District in New York wrote in its 2024-25 financial audit that "electric buses currently carry purchase prices two to three times higher than diesel counterparts." Red Creek Central School District, also in New York, put it higher: an "electric bus is three to four times more than the cost of the gas buses the district currently purchases." Hyde Park's own figures work out to 2.88 times, which sits inside both ranges.

New York is over-represented here, and not by accident. The state funds bus purchases by public proposition, so districts must print the per-bus price in a flyer mailed to voters. Most states do not. Published pricing is scarce for that reason, not because the purchases are.

What do districts actually pay after grants and state aid?

Often a fraction of sticker, and sometimes nothing. Hyde Park's 2025-26 budget flyer is the clearest published example, because it shows both propositions in one document.

What do districts actually pay after grants and state aid?
Hyde Park CSD, 2025-26 budget voteAmount
Proposition 3: nine 66-passenger electric buses at $503,848.53 each$4,534,637
Less NYSERDA NYSBIP grant, $257,250 per bus($2,315,250)
Upfront cost after grant$2,219,387
Less state aid on vehicles, up to 58.4% of gross($2,219,387)
Net cost to the district$0.00
Proposition 2: four 66-passenger diesel buses at $174,755.38 each, plus three vans$975,075
Less state aid on vehicles, 58.4%($569,444)
Net cost to the district$405,631

Source: Hyde Park CSD 2025-26 Budget Flyer, vote held May 20, 2025.

A school board reading this flyer sees nine electric buses at no cost to the district and four diesel buses at $405,631. In states that stack a purchase incentive on top of transportation aid, the sticker-price objection does not decide these votes on its own. It is also the sales problem. A vendor quoting sticker price into a district that has already modeled the offset is answering the wrong question. Anyone selling into K-12 procurement should assume the district has done this math first.

What grants pay for electric school buses?

Federal EPA programs dominate, with state and utility programs layered underneath. Grant awards are a leading indicator of a purchase that has not been solicited yet, which is why these programs are worth tracking directly.

What grants pay for electric school buses?
ProgramFunderRole
Clean School Bus ProgramUS EPALargest direct-to-district source, rebates and grants
Clean Heavy-Duty Vehicles ProgramUS EPAFrequently larger per award, often via state agencies
Diesel Emissions Reduction Act (DERA)US EPAState pass-through grants
Climate Pollution Reduction GrantsUS EPABroader climate funding, buses as one eligible use
NYSERDA NYSBIPNew York State$257,250 per bus
New York transportation aidNew York StateUp to 58.4% of gross vehicle cost
Massachusetts Clean Energy CenterMassachusetts$1.4M to Acton-Boxborough RSD, alongside $200K from US EPA
Ohio NSR Electric School Bus programOhioFunded two buses at Worthington City SD
Washington Department of EcologyWashingtonFive buses plus infrastructure and training at Olympia SD
Portland General Electric Electric School Bus FundUtilityCited in Lake Oswego SD's adopted budget
Electric School Bus Grant ProgramNew Jersey DEPRound 3 running as of July 2026

District awards run from roughly $800,000 to $20.4M, led by Los Angeles Unified at $20,374,355 and Beaverton School District and Miami-Dade County Public Schools at $19,750,000 each. Roanoke City Public Schools took $15,488,465 and Oakland Unified $15,178,465. State agencies hold larger pass-through pools, including Utah's Department of Environmental Quality at $42,000,000. EPA publishes its own award list, but it does not tell you how much of each award is still unspent.

Which districts still have unspent electric bus funding?

An award that has been obligated but not disbursed is money the district still has to spend, against a deadline. Bid feeds do not report it.

Which districts still have unspent electric bus funding?
DistrictStateAwardedDisbursedStill unspentSpending endsAward record
Kern Union High School DistrictCA$15,405,000$406,833$14,998,167Jun 30, 2027USAspending
Porterville Unified School DistrictCA$13,856,644$127,907$13,728,737Mar 31, 2028USAspending
Miami-Dade County Public SchoolsFL$19,750,000$10,080,525$9,669,475Mar 31, 2027USAspending
Beaverton School DistrictOR$19,750,000$14,437,231$5,312,769Mar 31, 2027USAspending
Lansing Public School DistrictMI$5,925,000$1,593,972$4,331,028Mar 31, 2027USAspending
Hamilton-Wenham Regional SDMA$4,989,500$4,159,076$830,424Feb 28, 2027USAspending
Walla Walla Public SchoolsWA$3,750,000$3,731,570$18,430Mar 31, 2026USAspending

Kern Union has spent 2.6% of a $15.4M award with under two years left on the clock. That district is under time pressure to commit the money rather than at the start of a long evaluation. The mechanism is the same one described in tracking a contract before the RFP: the deadline creates the urgency, not the solicitation.

What does charging infrastructure cost on top of the bus?

Enough to be its own line item, and often its own procurement. Districts frequently encounter this cost after the bus vote has already passed.

What does charging infrastructure cost on top of the bus?
EntityStateAmountDetailSource
Shenendehowa CSDNY$7.5M estimatedBus electrification including underground electrical infrastructure and site design for two transformersDistrict budget document
Davidson County (Metro Nashville)TN$1,000,000Capital budget line, "Electric School Bus Charging Stations"FY2026 budget
Worcester Public SchoolsMA$133,000New charging stations, plus a separate $83,000 increase in electricity costsDistrict budget document
WesterlyRI$120,057Two large school buses replaced with electric, including charging stationsFY2026 proposed budget

Shenendehowa's $7.5M estimate shows the scale. Depot electrification at a large district can exceed the cost of the buses, and it pulls in electrical contractors, utilities and transformer lead times rather than bus dealers. Red Creek CSD called out "a full infrastructure overhaul of the district's bus garage" as the reason the transition is budgetarily challenging, and Kings Park CSD lists its bus garage as "2026 (in construction)." Depot work of that size usually rides a bond rather than an operating budget, which is its own set of signals.

Why are some districts turning back to diesel and propane?

The operating experience has not matched the funding case everywhere, and boards have said so in open session.

Montgomery County, Maryland, March 2026: "MCPS is kind of shifting away from their electric school bus policy and purchasing more diesel buses." (clip)

Mexico Central School District, New York, May 2025 budget newsletter: "The Board realizes that last year's electric bus proposition was soundly defeated and is not offering" one this year. (newsletter)

Falls Church, Virginia, March 2026: the schools bought an electric bus through a grant, and the body went on to "approve two new propane school buses. So like renewable propane rather than 100% electric vehicles." (clip)

Depew UFSD, New York, October 2025: "weather doesn't correspond well with electric vehicles. Some southern California they work great there." (clip) Newark CSD, New York, March 2026 noted that "some school districts are choosing diesel heaters on these electric buses to heat the electric bus because... generators to power the buses and those generators are diesel generators." (clip) Cohasset, Massachusetts recorded that "the charger has trouble charging" and that the supplier "has been trying to repair" it.

The diesel-heater workaround is itself contested. At Hilton Central School District's electric bus forum in February 2026, a speaker noted that if you "purchase an EV bus or a zero emission bus, it cannot be equipped with said auxiliary heating equipment." (clip) New Jersey's DEP, running its own Electric School Bus Grant Program, told applicants the opposite: "You can also purchase buses with optional external diesel heaters and that can support the cabin." (clip)

Lake Washington School District in Washington put the structural problem plainly in its June 2025 budget presentation: "State does not have a consistent method of funding ongoing purchases of electric buses." A one-time federal rebate buys the first buses. It does not fund the replacement cycle.

The counter-evidence is real too. Taos Municipal Schools cited Quebec fleets running "91% uptime on their electric school buses" (clip), and Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools reported its bus travels "approximately 150 miles per charge" from a charging station installed a year earlier.

What happens when the bus manufacturer fails?

It has already happened, and the consequences appear in district meeting records. Lion Electric, one of the most visible electric school bus manufacturers, entered creditor protection in December 2024 under Canada’s CCAA process, approved in Quebec Superior Court on December 19, after halting production at its Joliet, Illinois plant. A group of Quebec investors bought the company in May 2025, rebranded it LION, and consolidated bus production at its original Saint-Jerome, Quebec facility. The Joliet plant did not reopen. In July 2025, Deloitte Restructuring, the court-appointed monitor, wrote to clients and creditors that all US warranties and purchase orders would not be honored by the new company. LION has since narrowed its focus to the Quebec market, with warranty and maintenance service resuming for Quebec-based clients.

Plains High School District in Montana described the consequence at a March 2026 special meeting: "Lion Electric is the bus they have and Lion Electric is no more," followed immediately by a question about service and parts availability, and then: "We had a heater go out in the bus last week. We had a diesel heater go out this morning." (clip) Clarke County Schools in Georgia and Helena Public Schools in Montana both referenced Lion buses and their diesel heaters in the same window.

Total-cost-of-ownership models rarely account for this risk: a grant-funded asset with a fifteen-year service life bought from a manufacturer with a shorter one. Vendors should expect this objection, and a manufacturer with a working service network has a strong answer to it.

Where are districts evaluating electric buses right now?

These are the pre-RFP positions: districts that have voted, scoped, or budgeted, but have not yet run a competitive solicitation. According to NationGraph's analysis of board meeting minutes, budget documents, and meeting video, each of the following was captured in the last 18 months. These are the data sources that surface a purchase before the RFP.

Where are districts evaluating electric buses right now?
DistrictStateStageValueWhat was saidDateSource
Shenendehowa CSDNYInfrastructure scoping$7.5M est.Bus electrification, underground electrical work, two transformersApr 2025Budget document
Penfield CSDNYBoard-authorizednot statedAuthorized to purchase six 48-72 passenger electric school busesApr 2025Budget document
Weld County SD RE-5JCOAwarding contractnot statedMotion "to approve the electric school bus charger and infrastructure project and to award the contract," seconded by Director ProctorMar 2026Board video
Union Free SD of the TarrytownsNYProposition draftednot statedFive electric buses proposed, plus bus garage electrical upgradesMay 2025Budget newsletter
Prince George's County PSMDWork group proposalnot stated"We have acquired electric buses and conducted financial modeling. However, electric buses still represent a small portion"Feb 2026Board video
San Diego USDCAPurchase recommendednot statedRecommend purchase "using the US Environmental Protection Agency clean school bus grant"Aug 2025Board video
Ogilvie Public SDMNCharger install, bus on ordernot stated"Second charger for the next school bus... installed before electric bus arrives"Oct 2025Board video
Saco Middle SchoolMEApplications filednot stated"Five applications for electric school buses that does not commit us to purchasing"Mar 2025Board video
Scotia-Glenville CSDNYReserve set asidenot statedReserve for bus garage renovations "related the conversion of electrical buses once a proposition is approved"Jun 2025District financial statements
Caledonia-Mumford CSDNYHeading to a votenot statedDistricts "putting an electric bus up next to their budget vote"Mar 2026Board video
Clarence CSDNYPilot under reviewnot statedElectric school bus "pilot program at one district," infrastructure and charging stations discussedOct 2025Board video
Hood RiverORFleet expandingnot stated"Schools got their fourth EV which is a bus and they have two more electric buses coming"Mar 2026Council video

For a vendor, the stage column matters more than the value column. A district that has set aside a reserve pending a proposition is six to eighteen months from a solicitation. A district that has already filed five grant applications without committing to purchase is earlier still, and is the least expensive stage at which to win the relationship. By the time these reach a K-12 bid board, the specification is usually already written.

Most of the New York rows trace back to the state mandate: all new bus purchases zero-emission from 2027, fleets fully electric by 2035. Hudson Falls CSD, Greenwood Lake UFSD, Kings Park CSD and Massena CSD all cite it, and Massena wrote that "the looming deadline to purchase electric buses compels us to fortify" the fleet with diesel first. Saranac Lake CSD's board asked in February 2026 about hardship waivers.

Why do these purchases not show up in purchase order data?

The money moves as a grant and a voter proposition rather than as a conventional procurement. A district receives an EPA award, holds a public vote, and takes delivery. Purchase order data captures the tail end of that sequence, if it captures it at all.

Our own contract records bear this out. Searching awarded contracts for electric school buses at K-12 districts over the last 18 months returns almost nothing usable, while budget documents and board minutes return hundreds of records with real numbers attached. Every price in this article comes from the second group. A pipeline built on spend data alone will barely register this category.

Related reading

Methodology: figures are drawn from district budget documents, board meeting minutes, board meeting video transcripts, and federal grant records, each traceable to a primary source linked inline. Grant counts are bounded observations from a paged census, not complete totals, so entity counts are stated as minimums. Award records carry a spending period rather than a document date, and recency is assessed on that period. Four figures in our underlying dataset were withheld from this article because the source passage was truncated and could not be confirmed.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does an electric school bus cost?

Roughly $348,000 to $504,000 per bus in 2026 based on published district budget documents, against about $175,000 for a comparable 66-passenger diesel bus. Hyde Park CSD in New York priced nine 66-passenger electric buses at $503,848.53 each including a level 3 charger per bus, and East Greenbush CSD priced two at $347,816 each.

How much does an electric school bus cost compared to diesel?

About two to three times more on sticker. Jordan-Elbridge CSD's audit states electric buses "carry purchase prices two to three times higher than diesel counterparts," and Red Creek CSD puts it at three to four times. After grants and state aid the comparison can invert: Hyde Park's electric buses netted to $0.00 while its diesel buses cost the district $405,631.

What are the problems with electric school buses?

Districts have reported cold-weather range loss, chargers needing repair, and the need for diesel heaters to warm the cabin. Montgomery County noted that MCPS is "shifting away from their electric school bus policy and purchasing more diesel buses," and Lake Washington SD flagged that the state "does not have a consistent method of funding ongoing purchases of electric buses."

What is the EPA Clean School Bus Program?

A federal EPA program that funds school districts directly to replace diesel buses, through rebates and grants. NationGraph's records show awards from roughly $800,000 to $19,750,000 per district, alongside the related EPA Clean Heavy-Duty Vehicles Program and DERA state grants.

When do all school buses have to be electric?

It varies by state. New York districts consistently describe a mandate requiring all new school bus purchases to be zero-emission from 2027 and fleets to be fully electric by 2035, with hardship waivers available. Districts in other states are buying on grant availability rather than a deadline.

Why are electric school buses so expensive?

Purchase price is only part of it. Depot charging infrastructure is a separate cost that can exceed the buses: Shenendehowa CSD estimated $7.5M for electrification including underground electrical work and two transformers, and Metro Nashville budgeted $1,000,000 for charging stations alone.

#electricschoolbuses, #K12, #schooldistricts, #schoolbudgets, #governmentgrants, #preRFP, #cleanschoolbus, #EPA, #schoolbusprocurement, #SLEDsales, #K12procurement, #fleetelectrification, #govtech, #publicsector, #buyingsignals
Andrew Boston
Growth Associate

Find your first opportunity in minutes