Blog
Blogs

School Phone Bans in 2026: What 41 School Boards Actually Decided

Christian Levan
September 15, 2026

10 min read

NationGraph / Blog / K-12

What 41 school boards in 20 states put on the record about phone bans, and the one number any of them reported afterward.

Published Sep 15, 2026

Quick Answer

Across 41 school boards in 20 states that minuted a cell phone decision between March 2025 and August 2026, 22 had adopted, approved or already implemented a ban, and exactly one reported a post-implementation number back to its board. That record is North Lake School in Oregon, where an administrator told the board on February 28, 2026 that overall referrals were up from the prior year, without attributing the change to the phone policy. Every other district in the census recorded the decision and stopped: 16 boards used bell-to-bell language, six wrote named exceptions into the policy, four named Yondr as the storage vendor, and none came back with a before-and-after measure. In most of these districts the decision was not local. Eleven states appear in the record as the driver, through a governor's directive in New York and Oregon, a statute in Texas, an attorney general's handbook in Massachusetts, and a named bill in New Hampshire.

This census covers 41 records across 41 distinct entities in 20 states, drawn from school board meeting videos, minutes and agenda packets published between March 20, 2025 and August 26, 2026. It is a floor, not a total. Both underlying searches were capped, so the real number of districts that minuted a phone decision in this window is higher. None of this appears in a bid feed. A district adopting a bell-to-bell policy is not issuing a solicitation, and in most of these cases it is not buying anything at all. The decision surfaces as an agenda item, a second reading, or four minutes of discussion in a recorded meeting, which is where pre-RFP intent generally lives before procurement starts. For the wider pattern, see how to track government contracts before the RFP.

Which states are driving school phone bans, and which are still deciding?

Eleven states show up in the record as the reason a district acted, and in most of them the board is complying rather than choosing. Four had a mandate in force at the time of the meeting: New York and Oregon through a governor's directive, Texas through a statute requiring districts to adopt a prohibiting policy, and Georgia through a K-8 ban. New Jersey appears as a state program districts commit to. The rest are still in motion. Vermont shows up as bill text read into the minutes. New Hampshire shows up as HB 781. Pennsylvania and Connecticut appear as pending legislation that boards are watching. Minnesota appears as a committee hearing.

Massachusetts is the outlier and the most useful one for anyone selling into districts. The driver there is not a statute. Concord-Carlisle minuted that the attorney general's handbook proposes a statewide ban, and revised its own handbook policy in response. Guidance moved a district without a law behind it.

Which states are driving school phone bans, and which are still deciding?
StateDriver, as the board stated itStatus in the recordEntity that minuted it
NY"the directive that was given by the governor for all schools"In forceRome City School District
OR"governor's mandate that cell phones be banned during a school day"In forceSweet Home School District
TX"Requires school districts to adopt policies that prohibit student cell phone use during the school day"In forcePearland Independent School District
GA"prohibiting bell-to-bell access of devices for K-8 students"In force, K-8Cherokee County Schools
NJ"districts commit to enacting a Bell-to-Bell policy for all students in grades 6-12"State programBelmar Elementary School District
MA"The AG handbook proposes a statewide ban on cell phone use during school hours"AG guidanceConcord-Carlisle Regional School District
VT"policy shall provide an exception for students to possess and use a cell phone"Bill textOtter Valley Unified School District
NH"HB 781 is a cell-phone free bill"Named billPittsfield School District
PA"a bell-to-bell cell phone policy for K to 12 is currently [before] legislators"PendingHatboro-Horsham School District
CT"banning cell phones is on current discussions for legislation for all schools in the state"PendingWillington
MN"Schools can adopt policies banning cell phones. However there might need to be exceptions"At committeeMinnesota House Education Policy Committee

Source: NationGraph index of school board meeting videos, minutes and agenda packets, 41 records across 41 entities, March 2025 to August 2026. Eleven of the 20 states in the corpus had a board quote a state-level driver on the record. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which boards published a searchable record in the window, not how many districts acted. National trackers count more states with restrictions than appear here, because a state can have a law without a board in our window discussing it on camera.

New York is over-represented in this census by six entities, more than any other state. That is a mandate artifact. The governor's directive forced every New York district to minute a policy inside the same few months, so New York floods any corpus built from board records in this window. It is not evidence that New York districts lead on the issue.

What does a bell-to-bell phone ban actually cover?

Bell-to-bell means first bell to last bell, including lunch and passing time, and in this corpus it increasingly means more than phones. Sixteen of the 41 records use the phrase. Franklin Community School Corporation in Indiana told its board that Bluetooth earbuds are banned bell-to-bell alongside phones. Long Valley District in California wrote smart watches into Policy 6022. Massapequa in New York bans personal internet-enabled devices rather than naming a form factor at all.

That drift is not accidental. Selah School District in Washington cited the Phone-Free Schools Movement by name as the source of its definition. That nonprofit defines a phone-free policy as first bell to last bell covering all personal electronic devices, which it lists as phones, smartwatches, earbuds, fitness trackers and Bluetooth headphones, securely locked away for the whole day. Districts adopting that definition are adopting the device list that comes with it.

What does a bell-to-bell phone ban actually cover?
DistrictStateDevices named in the policyGrades covered
Franklin Community School CorporationIN"your phone, your Bluetooth earbuds, those type things"Not stated
Long Valley DistrictCA"cell phones, smart watches and/or personal electronic devices"Not stated
Massapequa Union Free School DistrictNY"personal internet-enabled [devices]"Not stated
Otter Valley Unified School DistrictVT"a cell phone or personal electronic device"Not stated
Papillion-La Vista School DistrictNEPolicy 5209, cell phones and other electronic devicesNot stated
Belmar Elementary School DistrictNJDevices securely stored6 to 12
Cherokee County SchoolsGADevices, bell-to-bellK to 8
Coldwater Community SchoolsMIStudent cell phone useHigh school only
St. Mary's County Public SchoolsMDCell phonesAll schools

Source: NationGraph index of school board meeting videos, minutes and agenda packets, 41 records across 41 entities, March 2025 to August 2026. Rows are the records where the policy language names a device class or a grade band. Sixteen of the 41 records use bell-to-bell phrasing. The Phone-Free Schools Movement, cited by name by Selah School District in Washington, defines a phone-free policy as first bell to last bell covering all personal electronic devices, which is where the earbud and smartwatch language in these policies comes from. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which boards published a searchable record in the window, not how many districts acted.

Grade coverage splits three ways. Cherokee County in Georgia covers K-8 because the state law does. Belmar in New Jersey covers 6 to 12. Coldwater Community Schools in Michigan restricted the ban to its high school. Anyone selling a storage or monitoring product into this market is selling into three different unit counts depending on which line the district drew.

How do districts enforce a school phone ban?

Most of them do not say. Twenty-one of the 41 entities state a policy type in the record, and only eight name any enforcement mechanism at all. Four name Yondr. One names secure storage without a vendor. Auburn School District in New Hampshire writes immediate confiscation into the policy and cites the state statute behind it. Papillion-La Vista in Nebraska pushes enforcement down to building-level rules recorded in the student handbook, which means the policy exists at district level and the practice is decided school by school.

How do districts enforce a school phone ban?
Enforcement mechanismEntitiesExample in the record
Named pouch vendor (Yondr)4Taunton Public Schools, MA
Secure storage, vendor not named1Belmar Elementary School District, NJ
Immediate confiscation1Auburn School District, NH, citing RSA 189:68
Building-level rules in the student handbook1Papillion-La Vista School District, NE, Policy 5209
No storage tool, policy only1Connetquot Central School District, NY
Mechanism not stated13Rome City School District, NY
Entities with a stated policy type21of 41 records

Source: NationGraph index of school board meeting videos, minutes and agenda packets, 41 records across 41 entities, March 2025 to August 2026. Counts cover the 21 entities whose record states a policy type. Only eight name any enforcement mechanism at all. The remaining 20 records in the census discuss a phone policy without describing how it is enforced. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which boards published a searchable record in the window, not how many districts acted.

The most revealing record is the one with no tool. At Connetquot Central School District in New York, a parent asked the board directly whether there was a pouch, and whether anything had actually been done. That is the enforcement gap stated out loud in a public meeting: a policy exists, the mechanism does not, and a parent noticed. Every district in the not-stated row is somewhere on that spectrum, and the record does not say where.

What exceptions do school phone ban policies allow?

Six of 41 records name an exception, and they cluster on medical and access needs. East Greenbush in New York names translating services, medical needs such as glucose monitoring for diabetic students, and students with disabilities. Cherokee County in Georgia names medical devices and district-provided devices. Texas built exceptions into the statute itself, and the Pearland record reflects that.

What exceptions do school phone ban policies allow?
EntityStateException, as writtenStage
East Greenbush Central School DistrictNY"translating services, medical needs like glucose monitoring for diabetic students, and students with disabilities"Adopted
Cherokee County SchoolsGA"Exceptions: Medical devices. District-provided devices"Adopted
Pearland Independent School DistrictTX"prohibit student cell phone use during the school day, with specific exceptions"Adopted
Otter Valley Unified School DistrictVT"policy shall provide an exception for students to possess and use a cell phone or personal electronic device"Proposed
Minnesota House Education Policy CommitteeMN"there might be exceptions where an individual student might still need access to a cell phone"Proposed
Jaffrey-Rindge SAU OfficeNH"our policy says that high school students are allowed to use their cell phones during lunch or do we have to change [it]"Discussed

Source: NationGraph index of school board meeting videos, minutes and agenda packets, 41 records across 41 entities, March 2025 to August 2026. Six of 41 records name an exception. Bracketed text marks a word supplied where the transcript or minute was cut off. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which boards published a searchable record in the window, not how many districts acted.

The unresolved cases matter more than the settled ones. Jaffrey-Rindge in New Hampshire asked whether its existing lunch exception survives the new state law, and the record does not answer. The Minnesota House Education Policy Committee discussed the same question at the state level, noting that an individual student might still need access. Vermont's bill text writes a mandatory exception clause into the statute. The exception is where state mandate and local practice collide, and in this corpus that collision is still open in several places.

What did districts measure before they banned phones?

Three districts brought a number to the board before voting. Richland School District No. 2 in South Carolina stated on camera that 97% of students use phones during school, and called it a huge number. Taunton Public Schools in Massachusetts ran a student survey and reported that 41% of students indicated their primary phone use was something the minute then cuts off. Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan in Minnesota presented an external study of 20,000 teachers, and that passage is also truncated, stopping after the phrase about stricter policies.

What did districts measure before they banned phones?
DistrictStateFigureWhat it measuredDate
Richland School District No. 2SC97%Students using phones during school, stated on camera before the vote: "97% of students use phones during school that's a huge number"Mar 24, 2025
Taunton Public SchoolsMA41%Student survey response, cut off mid-sentence in the minutes: "41% of the students indicated that the primary use of the phone"Apr 5, 2025
Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan ISD 196MN20,000Teachers in an external study presented to the board: "a team of researchers asked 20,000 teachers about school phone policies"Mar 10, 2026

Source: NationGraph index of school board meeting videos, minutes and agenda packets, 41 records across 41 entities, March 2025 to August 2026. All three figures are pre-policy. None is a result. Two are truncated in the source: the Taunton passage stops after "the primary use of the phone", so what the 41% measures is not recoverable from the record, and the Rosemount passage stops after "The stricter the policy", so the study's finding is not in the minute. Open the underlying video before citing either result. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which boards published a searchable record in the window, not how many districts acted.

All three are baselines. Not one is a result. Two of the three are cut off in the source, which is a real limit on what can be cited from them: the Taunton percentage is genuine but what it measures is not recoverable from the passage, and the Rosemount finding is not in the minute at all. Anyone quoting either figure should open the underlying video first.

Did any district report results after banning phones?

One, and it does not say what the headlines say. North Lake School in Oregon told its board in February 2026 that overall referrals were up from the previous year. The speaker did not connect the rise to the phone policy and said they would be curious to see how it developed. That is the entire outcomes record across 41 districts and 20 states.

Did any district report results after banning phones?
Type of evidence in the recordRecordsWhat it is
Post-implementation outcome reported to a board1North Lake School, OR: "Overall referrals are up from last year." The speaker draws no causal link to the phone policy and adds that they will be curious.
Pre-policy baseline or student survey2Richland School District No. 2, SC and Taunton Public Schools, MA
External research cited to a board1Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan ISD 196, MN
Decision minuted with no number of any kind37Every other record in the census
Total records4141 entities, 20 states

Source: NationGraph index of school board meeting videos, minutes and agenda packets, 41 records across 41 entities, March 2025 to August 2026. Taunton also carries the only dollar figure in the census, so it appears once here rather than twice. Do not read the North Lake line as an effect of the policy. It is one speaker, one district, one direction, with no attribution and no comparison group. No record in the census reports attendance, behavior incidents or grades before and after a ban. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which boards published a searchable record in the window, not how many districts acted.

The gap is the finding. Twenty-two districts in this census had adopted, approved or implemented a policy, and 37 of the 41 records contain no number of any kind. Boards minute the vote, the second reading, the handbook revision and the effective date, then move to the next agenda item and do not schedule a review. For a vendor, that is a specific and usable opening: the districts that banned phones in 2025 have no baseline, no measurement plan and no answer when a parent or a board member asks whether it worked. For a reporter, it is the reason there is very little evidence on either side of this debate at district level.

Who objects to school phone bans, and on what grounds?

Three objections appear in 41 records, and they come from three unrelated directions. At Ridgefield, a speaker argued that a total ban would remove communication tools students rely on, the emergency access argument. At Ann Arbor in Michigan, a speaker raised equity, citing LGBTQ advocates who report that bans can disproportionately affect students by removing access. At Connetquot in New York, the objection was the opposite: not that the ban went too far, but that without a pouch nothing had really been done.

Who objects to school phone bans, and on what grounds?
ObjectionEntityStateWhat was said
Emergency accessRidgefield Board of EducationNot resolved"A total ban would remove important tools that our students rely on for communication"
EquityAnn Arbor Public SchoolsMI"LGBTQ plus advocates report that cell phone bans in schools can disproportionately affect students by removing access"
Enforcement credibilityConnetquot Central School DistrictNY"Is there no pouch? Is there not did we not do anything?"

Source: NationGraph index of school board meeting videos, minutes and agenda packets, 41 records across 41 entities, March 2025 to August 2026. Three objections in 41 records, from three different directions, each raised by a single speaker. The Ridgefield video did not resolve to an institution in the index, so its state is left blank rather than guessed. This is a count of recorded objections, not a measure of parent sentiment. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which boards published a searchable record in the window, not how many districts acted.

Three individual speakers in three states is not a movement, and this census does not support describing it as one. It does show that the objections a board will field are predictable and that they are not all in the same direction. A district writing a policy will hear the emergency argument, the access argument, and the credibility argument, and the answers to those three are different documents.

What does a Yondr pouch contract not cover?

Taunton Public Schools is the only district in the census with a dollar figure attached to a phone policy, and the useful part is not the number. The minutes carry a purchase of 104,857.50 US dollars to Yondr Inc, and three lines of fine print alongside it. The purchase does not include a warranty, replacements or product upgrades. Students are required to pay to replace the pouch if damaged. All students secure phones on arrival, which is a daily staffing commitment at every entrance.

What does a Yondr pouch contract not cover?
Term, as minutedWhat it means for the district
"This purchase does not include a warranty, replacements, or product upgrades"Pouches that fail in year two are a new purchase, not a claim
"students are required to pay to replace the pouch if damaged"Replacement cost transfers to families, not the district budget
"all students will secure phones in a Yonder Pouch upon arrival"Staffing at every entry point, every morning
Total USD 104,857.50, Yondr IncThe one dollar figure attached to a phone policy anywhere in the census

Source: NationGraph index of school board meeting videos, minutes and agenda packets, 41 records across 41 entities, March 2025 to August 2026. One record: Taunton Public Schools, MA, board minutes of April 5 and May 8, 2025. Figures are stated in the minutes, not computed. This is a single district's terms and is not a price benchmark. For published pricing across districts see Civic IQ's Yondr pricing guide. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which boards published a searchable record in the window, not how many districts acted.

Yondr is the market reference point here. The company was founded in 2014 by Graham Dugoni, is based in Los Angeles, and sells a neoprene pouch that locks and unlocks against a separate magnetic base. It appears in four of the 41 records, more than any other named vendor, and one record explicitly notes the absence of a pouch. Published per-student pricing for Yondr sits outside this dataset and has already been collected elsewhere, so this piece does not build a price table. For cross-district pricing, see Civic IQ's Yondr pricing guide. What Taunton adds is the replacement and warranty language, which is the part a district discovers in year two.

Methodology

Figures come from 41 records indexed across 41 distinct school and government entities in 20 states, published between March 20, 2025 and August 26, 2026. Sources are 26 meeting videos, 11 sets of board minutes and four agenda packets. Thirty-six records carry both a quoted passage and a clickable source. Five sets of board minutes were read without a public URL and are cited by entity and date only. Two records did not resolve to an institution in the index, so their states are left blank rather than guessed. The census is a floor rather than a total, because both underlying searches were capped at their result limits. Every figure here is stated in the source record, not computed, and two passages are truncated mid-sentence in the original and are flagged where they appear. Published vendor pricing is excluded because it sits outside these records. Counts reflect which boards published a searchable record in this window, not how many districts acted.

Related reading

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a bell-to-bell phone ban?

A bell-to-bell phone ban prohibits student phone use from the first bell to the last bell, including lunch and passing periods, rather than only during class. Sixteen of the 41 districts in this census use the phrase. The Phone-Free Schools Movement, cited by name by Selah School District in Washington, defines it as covering all personal electronic devices, securely stored and inaccessible for the entire school day.

How many states have banned cell phones in schools?

Ballotpedia counted 26 states with laws or policies requiring local school boards to ban or limit K-12 cellphone use as of August 2025, 22 of them enacted during 2025. This census is narrower and covers only districts that discussed a phone decision on the record: 11 states appear in it as the stated driver behind a district's action.

Who decides a school phone ban, the state or the district?

Both, and in this census the state usually moved first. Boards in New York, Oregon, Texas and Georgia describe themselves as implementing a mandate rather than choosing a policy. Districts in Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Minnesota were acting ahead of, or in anticipation of, a state decision that had not landed yet.

Do school phone bans cover smartwatches and Bluetooth earbuds?

In some districts, yes. Long Valley District in California names smart watches in Policy 6022. Franklin Community School Corporation in Indiana told its board that Bluetooth earbuds are banned bell-to-bell. Massapequa in New York covers personal internet-enabled devices as a category. Most policies in this census name phones only.

Can students keep phones for medical reasons under a school phone ban?

Usually yes, where the policy names exceptions at all. East Greenbush in New York names medical needs including glucose monitoring for diabetic students, students with disabilities, and translating services. Cherokee County in Georgia names medical devices and district-provided devices. Only six of 41 records name an exception of any kind.

Why do school phone ban decisions show up in board minutes before bid portals?

Because most of them never become a solicitation. Thirty-seven of the 41 records here involve no purchase at all, just a policy vote, a second reading or a handbook revision. The districts that do buy storage tend to buy after the policy passes, which means the board discussion is the earliest available signal and the only one for districts that never buy anything.

#schoolphoneban #belltobell #K12 #schoolboard #edtech #publicsectorsales #preRFP #Yondr
Christian Levan
Growth Lead

Find your first opportunity in minutes