Blog
Blogs

Data Center Moratoriums 2026: Which Counties and Towns Passed Them

Andrew Boston
September 14, 2026

14 min read

NationGraph / Blog / Land Use and Permitting

Every jurisdiction with a data center moratorium or equivalent instrument on the record, with dates, durations, stated reasons and a link to the minute or the video timestamp.

Published Sep 14, 2026

Quick Answer

NationGraph's census of local government records identifies at least 41 US counties, cities, townships and special districts with a data center moratorium or an equivalent land use instrument on the record, 10 of which adopted one in the last 18 months. Knox County, Tennessee approved resolution R-26-6-904 on June 22, 2026. Ypsilanti, Michigan adopted a 365 day moratorium on March 3, 2026. The reason given most often is not water and not power. It is that the local code has no category for a data center, which leaves one permitted as a generic industrial use, so a temporary pause is the only instrument available until the code is rewritten.

This article is built on a NationGraph census of 88 records from 84 distinct county, city, township and special district bodies across 33 states, captured between July 2024 and August 2026. Every record carries a working source link: 49 come from meeting video with second accurate timestamps, 26 from board minutes, 12 from agenda packets and one from a public notice. Almost none of it appears in a bid feed, because a moratorium is not a procurement. It is a governing body changing what it is allowed to approve, which is the same class of upstream event that surfaces a purchase long before the RFP.

Which counties and towns passed data center moratoriums?

Ten in the last 18 months, three more before that window, across 10 states. The instruments are not identical and the differences matter more than the count.

Which counties and towns passed data center moratoriums?
JurisdictionTypeStateDateInstrument as recordedDurationSource
Knox CountyCountyTNJun 22, 2026Resolution R-26-6-904, county-wide moratoriumnot statedMinutes
GreenbackTownTNJul 14, 2026Temporary moratorium on approval of data center facility operationsnot statedMinutes
YpsilantiCityMIMar 3, 2026Temporary moratorium adopted by council resolution365 daysVideo 00:54:39
Comstock Charter TownshipTownshipMIFeb 19, 2026Moratorium on processing applications, passed on roll callnot statedMinutes
BarbertonCityOHNov 17, 2025Moratorium approved the previous week, referenced in councilnot statedVideo 00:45:19
Fluvanna CountyCountyVASep 17, 2025Moratorium on new data center applicationsimmediately to JanuaryMinutes
Red Willow CountyCountyNESep 22, 2025Zoning moratorium on data centers, Book 24 Page 8412 monthsMinutes
Clarke CountyCountyIAJun 23, 2025Temporary moratorium on construction in unincorporated areastemporaryMinutes
Pennington CountyCountySDMar 18, 2025Ordinance No. 797, data center moratoriumnot statedAgenda
Calaveras County reportedCountyCAAug 26, 2026Temporary moratorium, reported inside a water district meetingtemporarySecond hand, verify before citing
Marshall County historicalCountyINFeb 3, 2025Zoning ordinance amendment 2025-10. Motion carried 3-0not statedMinutes
Stanley historicalCityNDJan 14, 2025Ordinance on data centers and battery storage, two prior readingsnot statedMinutes
Kootenai County historicalCountyIDMar 5, 2025Emergency moratorium, development code rewrite to follownot statedMinutes

Source: NationGraph census of county, city, township and special district records, July 2024 to August 2026. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which bodies publish searchable minutes, packets and meeting video, and both underlying searches returned capped result sets, so every figure is a floor rather than a total. Three jurisdictions marked historical fall outside the 18 month window and are kept for comparison. Calaveras County was recorded second hand and is not independently confirmed here.

Clarke County, Iowa has the cleanest resolution text in the file. Its June 2025 resolution establishes a temporary moratorium "on the construction of data centers in the unincorporated areas of Clarke County," and states the purpose in the same passage: to write appropriate regulation. Scope, instrument and reason in one sentence, with nothing inferred.

Comstock Charter Township, Michigan shows why the word moratorium hides real variation. Its resolution pauses the processing of applications, not construction. That is a narrower legal instrument than Clarke County's and it does different work. Fluvanna County, Virginia went narrower still and paused only new applications, with a defined end month. Kootenai County, Idaho used an emergency moratorium, the fastest instrument in the census.

Stanley, North Dakota is the only jurisdiction with a complete legislative trail on the record: two readings in November and December 2024, then adoption on January 14, 2025. Marshall County, Indiana is the only one with a vote tally, "Motion carried 3-0." Most records show that a moratorium exists without showing how close the vote was.

The best available count of how far this has spread does not come from us. It comes from a council reading its own resolution into the record. Ypsilanti stated on March 3, 2026 that "at least 19 Michigan communities um have passed data center moratoriums finding these facilities require specific regulatory controls not present." That is Ypsilanti's figure, phrased as a minimum, and this census does not independently prove it. Our own records confirm four Michigan jurisdictions with an instrument, plus Ann Arbor studying and Auburn Hills ruling itself out. Treat 19 as a credible number attributed to Ypsilanti, not as a finding.

The working title for this piece said counties. The data says otherwise. Of the 84 entities in the census, 46 are municipalities, 33 are counties, 6 are townships and 3 are special districts, including a water district and a hospital district. Counties are not even the largest group.

Why do local governments pass data center moratoriums?

Because the code has no provision for a data center. That reason appears in 11 records, more than water, power or taxes.

Why do local governments pass data center moratoriums?
Reason as stated on the recordRecordsWhere it was said
No provision in the existing code, need time to write regulation11Lee County NC, Clarke County IA, Acme Township MI, Kootenai County ID, Putnam County FL, Spink County SD, Wabash County IN, Chisago City MN, Calaveras County CA, Anderson County SC, Oneida County WI
Water use10Leavenworth County KS, Parker Water CO, Yukon OK, De Forest WI, Sedgwick County KS, Monterey Park CA, Scranton PA, San Angelo TX, Matanuska-Susitna AK, Whitman MA
Electricity demand and grid capacity6Leavenworth County KS, Columbia County GA, Palo Alto CA, Ann Arbor MI, Pittsboro IN, Auburn Hills MI
Tax abatements and shifted tax burden6Merrillville IN, Massillon OH, Wildwood MO, Nodaway County MO, Park City KS, Rolesville NC
Noise1Mount Morris NY
Effect on surrounding neighborhoods1St Louis MO
Records with a stated reason35of 88 records in the census

Source: NationGraph census of county, city, township and special district records, July 2024 to August 2026. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which bodies publish searchable minutes, packets and meeting video, and both underlying searches returned capped result sets, so every figure is a floor rather than a total. A record is counted once per reason and a single meeting can state more than one. Reasons are recorded in the speaker's own words and categories are not merged.

Lee County, North Carolina put it in one line in February 2026: "Currently, our Udo has no provision for data centers. A moratorium would give time for an in-depth study." Putnam County, Florida supplied the legal consequence in August 2026. Absent a regulation saying otherwise, "a data center is a generic industrial use, a use by right."

A use by right. If a county's code has no data center category, a data center is just an industrial building, and the county cannot say no to one. Denial is not on the menu. A moratorium is not a rejection of the industry. It is a local government buying time to acquire the power to decide at all. Acme Township, Michigan recorded the mechanics of that purchase in its planning commission packet: a moratorium "may require both a zoning ordinance and police-power," meaning two instruments, not one.

Water is second at 10 records and it is real. Leavenworth County, Kansas heard that data centers "use huge amounts of water. Water we do not have to spare." Electricity and grid capacity come third at 6, tax abatements fourth at 6, noise once, neighborhood effects once. Only 35 of the 88 records state a reason at all. In the rest, the instrument is recorded and the motivation is not.

How long does a data center moratorium last?

Anywhere from six months to three years, and the record almost never explains the choice.

How long does a data center moratorium last?
Duration as statedJurisdictionStateStatusSource
365 daysYpsilantiMIadoptedVideo 00:54:39
12 monthsRed Willow CountyNEadoptedMinutes
12 monthsChampaign CountyILproposedVideo 00:13:29
Six monthsPalmettoGAindustrial sweepMinutes
Two yearsLeavenworth CountyKSproposedVideo 00:30:47
Two yearsDe ForestWIrequestedVideo 00:59:54
Three yearsLackawanna CountyPArequestedVideo 01:23:30
Three yearsYukonOKreferencedVideo 01:10:42
Immediately to JanuaryFluvanna CountyVAadoptedMinutes
Temporary, no termClarke CountyIAadoptedMinutes

Source: NationGraph census of county, city, township and special district records, July 2024 to August 2026. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which bodies publish searchable minutes, packets and meeting video, and both underlying searches returned capped result sets, so every figure is a floor rather than a total. Durations are printed exactly as the record states them and none was converted to a common unit. Fluvanna County's end year is cut off in the source passage, so no term was computed. Status is the stage of the instrument carrying that duration, not the jurisdiction's overall position.

Two things are worth noticing. First, the durations are not converted to a common unit anywhere in this dataset, and they should not be. Ypsilanti wrote 365 days. Red Willow County wrote 12 months. Those are the same length of time and two different drafting decisions, and flattening them loses the distinction.

Second, the range is argued inside single meetings. The Leavenworth County session that produced the two year proposal also recorded a call for a three year one. Lackawanna County, Pennsylvania records the process failing outright: a letter dated February 17 "calling for a three-year moratorium on data center development. I have not gotten a response."

There is no record in this census of any of the ten adopted moratoriums expiring, being extended, or being followed by the ordinance it was meant to buy time for. The file captures decisions. It does not capture consequences.

What size data center triggers a local rule?

Between 10,000 square feet and 25 megawatts, depending on who is drafting. The national average build is roughly twenty times larger than the largest of those triggers.

What size data center triggers a local rule?
JurisdictionStateFigure as statedWhat the figure isDateSource
Champaign CountyILAt least 10,000 square [feet]Trigger for a proposed 12 month moratoriumFeb 5, 2026Video 00:13:29
ConneautOHOver 25 megawattsThreshold in a ballot measure put to votersAug 26, 2026Video 00:01:27
WiscassetME20 megawatt capacity, removedThreshold deleted from a draft in favor of a generic definitionAug 25, 2026Video 00:06:22
Yankton CountySD25 megawatt versus the 300 plusSize tiers debated while writing a permit requirementAug 25, 2026Video 01:31:19
Columbia CountyGA21 generators on a 48 megawatt data centerEngineering detail, with a stated 200 MW practical ceiling per campusFeb 3, 2026Video 01:28:13
Citrus CountyFL75 megawatt data centerSize used in the county's own tax valuation workFeb 10, 2026Video 00:25:41
Ann ArborMILess than 10 megawattsSize of the data centers already in the cityAug 25, 2026Video 00:29:31
Palo AltoCA500 megawattsStated US average size of a new data centerFeb 4, 2026Video 01:43:02

Source: NationGraph census of county, city, township and special district records, July 2024 to August 2026. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which bodies publish searchable minutes, packets and meeting video, and both underlying searches returned capped result sets, so every figure is a floor rather than a total. Every figure is printed as the speaker said it and none was rounded or converted. Champaign County's unit is cut off after the word square in the source passage, so no unit was recorded. The Palo Alto and Ann Arbor rows are context figures, not regulatory thresholds.

Palo Alto's utilities commission put the scale benchmark on the record in February 2026: the "average size of a new data center in the US is 500 megawatts." Ann Arbor's planning commission put the local reality next to it six months later. The data centers already in the city are "less than 10 megawatts," small enough to sit on ordinary distribution.

That gap is the drafting problem, and it shows up as inconsistency. Conneaut, Ohio wrote a 25 megawatt trigger into a ballot measure. Champaign County, Illinois used floor area instead, at 10,000 square feet. Wiscasset, Maine went the other way and deleted its thresholds: the square foot area and the "20 megawatt uh capacity has been removed. So, we've got a generic" definition. Yankton County, South Dakota debated the tiers out loud, weighing "25 megawatt versus the 300 plus."

A threshold set at 25 megawatts catches a building an order of magnitude smaller than the thing everyone is arguing about, and a generic definition with no threshold catches the server room in the back of an office park. Both failure modes are in this file.

How much does a data center cost to build?

Roughly $11.3 million per megawatt for a standard shell in 2026, with AI fit out adding as much as $25 million more per megawatt on top.

How much does a data center cost to build?
Published benchmarkFigureWhat it coversSource
JLL 2026 Global Data Center Outlook$11.3M per MWShell and core only, single tenant, 50 MW, air cooled. Up 6% on 2025Cited by Axis Intelligence
JLL, AI tenant fit out+ up to $25M per MWFit out cost stacked on top of the shell for an AI facilityCited by Axis Intelligence
Cushman & Wakefield 2026 Development Cost Guide+21% per MWRise in per MW construction cost since the Q4 2024 edition, US and CanadaPress release
Terrapin Construction Group, US$10M to $13M per MWUS planning benchmark, excludes land and IT hardwareCost guide

Source: published industry cost benchmarks, retrieved September 2026. None of these figures appears in any of the 88 local government records in this census. They are printed here as stated and were deliberately not multiplied against local megawatt thresholds: JLL's scope is a single tenant, air cooled, 50 MW shell, so applying it to a 25 MW ordinance trigger or a 300 MW campus is a scope error, not a calculation.

This is the number that turns an abstract argument about megawatts into a dollar figure, and not one of the 88 local government records in this census contains it. Local bodies are writing thresholds in megawatts and square feet while the published cost benchmarks that price those thresholds sit on real estate advisory sites their staff are not reading.

Two jurisdictions did their own version of the math. Citrus County, Florida worked through "current data center market capex research" and Florida tax valuations for a 75 megawatt facility. Park City, Kansas produced the only record in the census with both sides of the ledger in one line: a capital investment of $18M against "a 10-year projection of property taxes for all taxing entities of $2,918,700." That is the calculation every other jurisdiction in this file is arguing about without performing.

We did not multiply the published benchmark against any local threshold. JLL's figure describes a single tenant, air cooled, 50 megawatt shell. Applying it to a 25 megawatt ordinance trigger or a 300 megawatt campus is a scope error rather than a calculation, and this article does not make it.

Do data centers get tax breaks from local governments?

Yes, and the terms are generous where they are stated: 15 and 20 year abatements, 70% to 100% on equipment, against investments of $750 million and $6 billion.

Do data centers get tax breaks from local governments?
JurisdictionStateMechanismTerms as statedDirectionSource
Reeves County Hospital DistrictTXReeves County reinvestment zone$6 billion capital investment subject to abatement, applicant Energy Forge One LLCproposed grantHearing notice
New AlbanyOHReal property tax abatement15 years, against a $750 million expected investmentapprovedMinutes
Michigan CityINAssessed valuation deduction on real propertyCost cap truncated in the source passage, not recordedapprovedMinutes
MassillonOHTax abatementTwenty year abatement at 70%challenged in publicMinutes
MerrillvilleINIndiana practice, described to council100% on equipment, partial exemptions on land and buildingsdescribedVideo 00:12:08
Morrow CountyOROregon Strategic Investment Program15 year abatement, modeled before a project arrivedmodeledPacket
Storey CountyNVState investment incentive categories$1.0bn and $3.5bn tiers, with capital, employment and wage testsdescribedAgenda
RolesvilleNCState Qualifying Data Center exemptionMore than $100 million invested and 400 jobsdescribedPacket
Park CityKSIncentive rate of return analysis$18M investment against $2,918,700 of property tax over 10 yearsanalyzedAgenda
WildwoodMOProposed municipal code provisionCity will not give tax abatements or Chapter 100 to data centersproposed refusalVideo 00:10:16
Auburn HillsMINoneStaff not aware of any data centers receiving abatements locallynonePacket

Source: NationGraph census of county, city, township and special district records, July 2024 to August 2026. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which bodies publish searchable minutes, packets and meeting video, and both underlying searches returned capped result sets, so every figure is a floor rather than a total. Terms are printed as stated and no effective value was computed from them. Michigan City's cost cap is cut off mid sentence in the source and the figure was left blank rather than estimated. Only one record in the census names a funding program in the strict sense, Oregon's SIP.

The largest figure in the census belongs to a hospital district. Reeves County Hospital District in Texas noticed a hearing on an abatement where "the estimate of capital investment of all such improvements subject to the requested tax abatement is $6 billion." The applicant named on the notice is Energy Forge One LLC. Public reporting since identifies Energy Forge One as a Chevron subsidiary building a gas plant near Pecos to power a data center, with Microsoft named as a potential offtaker. None of that appears in the local record. What the hospital district saw was an LLC.

That is the pattern, not the exception. Across 88 records, only three companies are named anywhere: Energy Forge One in Texas, Vantage in Indiana and UR Energy in Iowa. Vantage is a real and identifiable developer, with a 618 acre rezoning in Pittsboro proposing 256, 96 and 48 megawatt buildings. It appears in the Pittsboro record only because an existing industrial employer raised a grid capacity objection. No hyperscaler appears by name in this file at all.

The abatement decisions split inside single states and single months. Michigan City, Indiana passed a data center abatement resolution in September 2025. Merrillville, Indiana heard in February 2026 that Indiana practice is to "grant 100% property tax abatement on equipment and partial exemptions on land buildings," with shifted tax burdens named as the consequence for homeowners. Massillon, Ohio heard a resident ask what a twenty year abatement at 70% actually returns to the city. Wildwood, Missouri is drafting the opposite instrument: a code provision saying the city "will not give tax abatements or chapter 100 to data centers." Auburn Hills, Michigan told its council staff is "not aware of any data centers receiving tax abatements" there.

How much water and power does a data center use?

The honest answer from this census is that nobody publishes the number for the building actually in front of them.

How much water and power does a data center use?
JurisdictionStateFigure as statedBasisSource
Parker Water and Sanitation DistrictCO5 million gallons of water a day if it is evaporationGeneral figure from a water district briefing, conditional on cooling typeVideo 00:21:05
IndependenceMOThe 51st large water user hereCity measured its own operating data center and published the rankVideo 01:34:07
St LouisMOLoop systems use less water on site, more power and water overallPlanning commission testimony on closed loop coolingVideo 02:43:53
Sedgwick CountyKSCommissioning volume, figure truncatedCommissioner noting a closed loop system still needs a large one time fillVideo 00:43:18
Palo AltoCA500 megawattsStated US average size of a new data center, utilities commission briefingVideo 01:43:02
Ann ArborMILess than 10 megawattsSize of existing local facilities, which sit on ordinary distributionVideo 00:29:31
Columbia CountyGAAbout 200 megawatts on a single campusStated practical ceiling, alongside 21 generators on a 48 MW facilityVideo 01:28:13
YukonOKNo figure. I have asked beforeA question about the local facility's water use, asked more than onceVideo 01:16:46
San AngeloTXNo figure. Can there be a cap on themWhether an applicant's claimed water figure can be made bindingVideo 00:22:37

Source: NationGraph census of county, city, township and special district records, July 2024 to August 2026. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which bodies publish searchable minutes, packets and meeting video, and both underlying searches returned capped result sets, so every figure is a floor rather than a total. Every water and power figure here is either a general rule of thumb, a measurement of an already operating facility, or a passage where the number is cut off. No record in the census carries a published water or power figure for a specific proposed facility. Figures are printed verbatim and the conditional on the Parker Water row travels with the number.

The hardest water figure in the file comes from Parker Water and Sanitation District in Colorado, and the conditional is part of it: a data center "uses 5 million gallons of water a day if it's if it's evaporation." Strip the cooling condition and the number means something else entirely.

Independence, Missouri is the only jurisdiction in the census that measured its own operating data center and published the result. A council member noted that people keep raising excessive water use, and that the city has already produced the numbers, making the facility "the 51st uh large water user here." Fifty first. Not first. That single record is the strongest check on the water argument in the whole file, and any piece that leaves it out is not reporting the data.

The closed loop claim gets examined in exactly two places. St Louis planning commission testimony described loop systems that "actually use less water on site, but end up using more power and more water overall." A Sedgwick County, Kansas commissioner pointed out that commissioning a closed loop system still requires a large one time volume, though the figure itself is cut off in the source.

Everywhere else the number is simply absent. Yukon, Oklahoma: "I've asked before, how much water is our center going to use?" San Angelo, Texas asked the enforcement version of the question, whether a facility that "claims to use only x amount of water" can be capped at it. Matanuska-Susitna Borough in Alaska asked the assembly directly. Whitman, Massachusetts recorded the moment the issue landed on a committee that had not considered it: "with data centers though is their water use. >> Their what? >> Water use."

What do local governments do instead of a moratorium?

Five jurisdictions in this census skipped the pause entirely and wrote a permanent conditional use permit requirement instead. None of them shows up in a moratorium count.

What do local governments do instead of a moratorium?
JurisdictionStateInstrumentWhat it doesSource
MaumeeOHConditional use permitZoning text changed to make data centers a conditional use before any application arrivedVideo 01:34:26
Yankton CountySDConditional use permitAny data center, and any modification beyond routine maintenance, requires a permitVideo 01:31:19
San MarcosTXTwo permit structureA separate conditional use permit for the major utility use of the facilityVideo 02:23:24
Cannon FallsMNConditional use permitText amendment initiated to bring data centers under conditional useVideo 00:55:37
Oliver CountyNDConditional use permit plus feePermit treatment discussed alongside a percentage of cost feeVideo 01:43:49
ConneautOHBallot measureRestriction on facilities over 25 megawatts, decided by voters rather than councilVideo 00:01:27
Monterey ParkCAMoratorium plus mandatory EIRPause paired with an environmental impact review requirementVideo 01:21:26
De ForestWIMaximum daily water capA water guardrail written as a condition on the developmentVideo 01:17:26
WildwoodMOCode provision refusing subsidyMunicipal code to state the city will not abate or use Chapter 100 financingVideo 00:10:16
St LouisMOZoning district regulationA moratorium proposal redirected into acceptable zoning districts and distance rulesMinutes

Source: NationGraph census of county, city, township and special district records, July 2024 to August 2026. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which bodies publish searchable minutes, packets and meeting video, and both underlying searches returned capped result sets, so every figure is a floor rather than a total. These instruments are permanent rules rather than pauses, so they do not appear in any count of moratoriums. Five of the ten are conditional use permit requirements. St Louis's distance restriction figure is truncated in the source and was not recorded.

Maumee, Ohio is the clearest version. Its council "moved to change the language and make the data center conditional use" in November 2025, before any application arrived, so the rule was teed up for if or when a developer came looking. That is the mature form of the same instinct a moratorium expresses, and it is invisible to anyone counting pauses.

The variants are worth knowing individually. San Marcos, Texas built a two permit structure, with a separate conditional use permit for the major utility use. Monterey Park, California paired a moratorium with a mandatory environmental impact review. Conneaut, Ohio sent the question to voters. De Forest, Wisconsin took the most constructive route in the file and wrote a "reasonable maximum daily water use to serve as a guardrail," which answers the water objection with a condition rather than a delay. Two weeks later the same village board heard a demand for a two year moratorium anyway.

Have any data center moratoriums been lifted?

Two jurisdictions in this census are moving the other way, and both are in Iowa.

Jackson County lifted its data mining moratorium in October 2024 with the developer in the room. The minutes record the zoning administrator and a representative of UR Energy discussing the lifting together. Story County was recorded in March 2026 moving to rescind its moratorium on data centers and crypto data centers.

That is the whole finding, and its size is the point. Ten adopted, two reversing, five permitting instead, seven handling abatements, all inside the same 18 months. The frame that survives contact with this data is not that local government is banning data centers. It is that local governments discovered their codes had no word for this, and are now split between pausing, permitting, subsidizing and refusing to subsidize, often within the same state and the same quarter.

Where are local governments writing data center rules right now?

Sixty seven records in this census are pre decision. These 16 are the closest to a vote, with a named instrument and a date.

Where are local governments writing data center rules right now?
JurisdictionStateStageInstrumentWhat was saidDateSource
Anderson CountySCproposedMoratorium on acceptance, processing and approvalApplies to data centers and all other [uses, list truncated]Aug 4, 2026Packet
Oneida CountyWIproposedInterim moratorium by ordinance amendmentOrdinance amendment would create an interim moratorium on data centersJul 8, 2026Minutes
Wabash CountyINdraftingMoratorium draft ordinanceOne committee working on both the BESS and data center ordinancesJul 2, 2026Minutes
WiscassetMEproposedMoratorium ordinance, thresholds removed20 megawatt capacity has been removed, so we have got a generic [definition]Aug 25, 2026Video 00:06:22
ConneautOHproposedBallot measure, over 25 MWWould restrict data centers over 25 megawatts if voters approveAug 26, 2026Video 00:01:27
Yankton CountySDproposedCUP for any data center or modificationBeyond routine maintenance requires a conditional use permitAug 25, 2026Video 01:31:19
Champaign CountyILproposed12 month moratorium, 10,000 sq ft triggerText amendment moving alongside a permanent big data centers amendmentFeb 5, 2026Video 00:13:29
Leavenworth CountyKSproposedTwo year moratoriumWater we do not have to spare, stated in public commentFeb 25, 2026Video 00:30:47
Monterey ParkCAproposedMoratorium plus mandatory EIRItem 5A is the data center moratorium and environmental impact review requirementJan 21, 2026Video 01:21:26
Erie TownshipMIproposedLimited moratorium ordinanceLimited is the township's own qualifier, heard with a public hearingFeb 10, 2026Packet
San MarcosTXproposedSeparate CUP for major utility useA data center may require a separate permit for the major utility useMar 3, 2026Video 02:23:24
WildwoodMOproposedCode provision refusing abatementsWill not give tax abatements or Chapter 100 to data centersMar 2, 2026Video 00:10:16
Reeves County Hospital DistrictTXhearing set$6 billion abatement hearingCapital investment subject to the requested abatement is $6 billionNov 24, 2025Notice
TucsonAZstudyingLarge scale zoning proposalEnergy and water sourcing written into the zoning proposal itselfMar 5, 2026Video 00:29:03
Acme TownshipMIstudyingMoratorium legal mechanicsMay require both a zoning ordinance and a police power ordinanceMar 9, 2026Packet
Nodaway CountyMOstudyingCounty attorney engagedCounty attorney contacted to discuss moratorium processesJan 8, 2026Minutes

Source: NationGraph census of county, city, township and special district records, July 2024 to August 2026. This describes our corpus, not the market. Counts reflect which bodies publish searchable minutes, packets and meeting video, and both underlying searches returned capped result sets, so every figure is a floor rather than a total. These 16 are the records closest to a decision out of 67 pre decision records. Stage is the position recorded on that date and several will have moved since. Three source documents carry an index date that contradicts the date printed on the document itself, including the Anderson County packet; in each case the printed date is used here.

For anyone selling into these bodies, the stage column matters more than the jurisdiction. A county whose attorney has been contacted about moratorium process, as in Nodaway County, Missouri, is earlier and cheaper to reach than one with a packet already drafted. Six jurisdictions in the census name outside help on the record: Nodaway County's county attorney, Colliers on a Lansing, New York zoning rewrite, Oregon's SIP program in Morrow County, Acme Township's dual ordinance legal advice, Pennsylvania American Water in Scranton and Vantage in Pittsboro.

Be clear about who that reaches. The buyers visible in this data are land use counsel, planning and zoning consultants, water and utility engineering, and economic development advisory. It is not an IT buying signal. A jurisdiction writing a data center ordinance is not shopping for software, and treating a moratorium as a technology purchase signal is exactly the proxy metric error that makes a pipeline look larger than it is.

Methodology

Every figure comes from a county, city, township or special district record with a working source link, and zero records lack one: 49 meeting videos with second accurate timestamps, 26 sets of board minutes, 12 agenda packets and one public notice. The census holds 88 records from 84 distinct entities across 33 states, 81 of them within the last 18 months. Both underlying searches returned capped result sets, so 84 is a floor, not a total.

No figure here was computed. Durations, thresholds, abatement terms and dollar amounts are printed as stated. Fourteen records carry a figure cut off mid passage, including Michigan City's cost cap and Sedgwick County's commissioning volume; each was left blank rather than estimated. The build cost table is external benchmark data, labeled as such, and was not multiplied against any local threshold.

Excluded: a district's or city's own IT migration, cloud migration and server rooms. Counts follow which bodies publish searchable minutes and video, which over represents the Midwest and small jurisdictions. This describes our corpus, not the market.

Related reading

Frequently Asked Questions

Which counties have passed data center moratoriums?

At least 41 US jurisdictions have a data center moratorium or equivalent land use instrument on the record, though most are not counties. Ten adopted one in the last 18 months, including Knox County TN, Greenback TN, Ypsilanti MI, Comstock Charter Township MI, Barberton OH, Fluvanna County VA, Red Willow County NE, Clarke County IA and Pennington County SD. Of the 84 entities in the census, 46 are municipalities and 33 are counties.

Why do local governments pass data center moratoriums?

Most often because the local code has no provision for data centers, which appears in 11 records, ahead of water at 10 and electricity at 6. Putnam County FL stated the legal consequence: without a regulation saying otherwise, "a data center is a generic industrial use, a use by right." A jurisdiction with no data center category in its code cannot deny one, so a pause is the only available instrument.

How long is a data center moratorium?

Durations stated on the record range from six months to three years. Ypsilanti MI adopted 365 days, Red Willow County NE and Champaign County IL used 12 months, Palmetto GA six months, Leavenworth County KS and De Forest WI two years, and Lackawanna County PA and Yukon OK referenced three years. Several adopted moratoriums state no term at all and are recorded simply as temporary.

Can a city stop a data center from being built?

Usually not, without changing its code first. If the zoning ordinance has no data center category, the facility is treated as a generic industrial use permitted by right, and the jurisdiction has no basis to deny a compliant application. That is why a moratorium, which pauses applications or construction while the code is rewritten, is the instrument that appears most often.

How much water does a data center use?

Parker Water and Sanitation District in Colorado stated 5 million gallons a day, conditional on evaporative cooling. The only measured local result in this census points the other way: Independence MO produced its own numbers and found its data center was "the 51st uh large water user here." No record in the census carries a published water figure for a specific proposed facility.

How much electricity does a data center use?

Palo Alto CA's utilities commission stated that the average size of a new US data center is 500 megawatts. Local reality is smaller: Ann Arbor MI reported that the data centers already in the city are "less than 10 megawatts." Columbia County GA described 21 generators on a 48 megawatt facility and a practical ceiling of about 200 megawatts per campus.

#datacenters, #moratorium, #zoning, #landuse, #countygovernment, #municipalgovernment, #planningcommission, #taxabatement, #preRFP, #buyingsignals, #SLED, #govtech, #publicsector, #datajournalism, #nationgraph
Andrew Boston
Growth Associate

Find your first opportunity in minutes